The Sabres have eight afternoon games at home this season. ©2022, Micheline Veluvolu

2022-23 Sabres schedule features two early home stands, February break

MONTREAL – A four-game western road trip in October, two early-season four-game home stands and eight afternoon contests at KeyBank Center are among the highlights of the 82-game 2022-23 Buffalo Sabres schedule the NHL released Wednesday.

The Sabres open the campaign Oct. 13 at home against the Ottawa Senators and also host the Florida Panthers the afternoon of Oct. 14 before beginning a four-game trip Oct. 18 against superstar Connor McDavid and the Edmonton Oilers.

The Sabres play five of their Atlantic Division opponents – Ottawa, the Boston Bruins, Detroit Red Wings, Florida Panthers and Tampa Bay Lightning – four times each and the Montreal Canadiens and Toronto Maple Leafs three times each. The Leafs make their only visit to KeyBank Center on Feb. 21.

The Sabres have a 10-day break from Feb. 1 to 11 thanks to the NHL All-Star Game and their bye week.

Some other notable dates, stretches and nuggets from the Sabres’ slate:

– The Sabres have four-game home stands Oct. 27 to Nov. 2 and Nov. 8 to 15. They play eight of their 10 games at home during that 19-day stretch.

– Ex-Sabres captain Jack Eichel and the Vegas Golden Knights make their only visit to Buffalo on Nov. 10.

– The Stanley Cup champion Colorado Avalanche make their only trip to Buffalo on Dec. 1. The Sabres play in Colorado on Dec. 15.

– Superstar Sidney Crosby and the Pittsburgh Penguins visit Buffalo on Nov. 2 and Dec. 9.

– The Sabres play in Dec. 31 in Boston and Jan. 1 in Ottawa.

– McDavid and the Oilers make their only trip to Buffalo on March 6.

– The Sabres also have another four-game road trip against Western Conference opponents beginning Jan. 23 against the Dallas Stars.

– The Sabres close the season April 13 at home against Ottawa.

The complete schedule:

Thursday, October 13 vs. Ottawa Senators at 7 p.m.
Saturday, October 15 vs. Florida Panthers at 1 p.m.
Tuesday, October 18 at Edmonton Oilers at 9 p.m.
Thursday, October 20 at Calgary Flames at 9 p.m.
Saturday, October 22 at Vancouver Canucks at 10 p.m.
Tuesday, October 25 at Seattle Kraken at 10 p.m.
Thursday, October 27 vs. Montreal Canadiens at 7 p.m.
Saturday, October 29 vs. Chicago Blackhawks at 7 p.m.
Monday, October 31 vs. Detroit Red Wings at 7 p.m.

Wednesday, November 2 vs. Pittsburgh Penguins at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, November 4 at Carolina Hurricanes at 7 p.m.
Saturday, November 5 at Tampa Bay Lightning at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, November 8 vs. Arizona Coyotes at 7 p.m.
Thursday, November 10 vs. Vegas Golden Knights at 7 p.m.
Saturday, November 12 vs. Boston Bruins at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, November 15 vs. Vancouver Canucks at 7 p.m.
Wednesday, November 16 at Ottawa Senators at 7 p.m.
Saturday, November 19 at Toronto Maple Leafs at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, November 22 at Montreal Canadiens at 7 p.m.
Wednesday, November 23 vs. St. Louis Blues at 7 p.m.
Friday, November 25 vs. New Jersey Devils at 7:30 p.m.
Monday, November 28 vs. Tampa Bay Lightning at 7 p.m.
Wednesday, November 30 at Detroit Red Wings at 7 p.m.

Thursday, December 1 vs. Colorado Avalanche at 7 p.m.
Sunday, December 4 vs. San Jose Sharks at 7 p.m.
Wednesday, December 7 at Columbus Blue Jackets at 7 p.m.
Friday, December 9 vs. Pittsburgh Penguins at 7 p.m.
Saturday, December 10 at Pittsburgh Penguins at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, December 13 vs. Los Angeles Kings at 7 p.m.
Thursday, December 15 at Colorado Avalanche at 9 p.m.
Saturday, December 17 at Arizona Coyotes at 9 p.m.
Monday, December 19 at Vegas Golden Knights at 10 p.m.
Friday, December 23 vs. Tampa Bay Lightning at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, December 27 at Columbus Blue Jackets at 7 p.m.
Thursday, December 29 vs. Detroit Red Wings at 7 p.m.
Saturday, December 31 at Boston Bruins at 1 p.m.

Sunday, January 1 at Ottawa Senators at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, January 3 at Washington Capitals at 7 p.m.
Saturday, January 7 vs. Minnesota Wild at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, January 10 vs. Seattle Kraken at 7 p.m.
Thursday, January 12 vs. Winnipeg Jets at 7 p.m.
Saturday, January 14 at Nashville Predators at 8 p.m.
Monday, January 16 vs. Florida Panthers at 1 p.m.
Tuesday, January 17 at Chicago Blackhawks at 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, January 19 vs. New York Islanders at 7 p.m.
Saturday, January 21 vs. Anaheim Ducks at 12:30 p.m.
Monday, January 23 at Dallas Stars at 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday, January 24 at St. Louis Blues at 8 p.m.
Thursday, January 26 at Winnipeg Jets at 8 p.m.
Saturday, January 28 at Minnesota Wild at 9 p.m.

Wednesday, February 1 vs. Carolina Hurricanes at 7 p.m.
Saturday, February 11 vs. Calgary Flames at 12:30 p.m.
Monday, February 13 at Los Angeles Kings at 10:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 15 at Anaheim Ducks at 10 p.m.
Saturday, February 18 at San Jose Sharks at 10:30 p.m.
Tuesday, February 21 vs. Toronto Maple Leafs at 7 p.m. 
Thursday, February 23 at Tampa Bay Lightning at 7 p.m.
Friday, February 24 at Florida Panthers at 7 p.m.
Sunday, February 26 vs. Washington Capitals at 1 p.m.
Tuesday, February 28 vs. Columbus Blue Jackets at 7 p.m.

Thursday, March 2 at Boston Bruins at 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 4 vs. Philadelphia Flyers at 12:30 p.m.
Monday, March 6 vs. Edmonton Oilers at 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 7 at New York Islanders at 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 9 vs. Dallas Stars at 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 11 vs. New York Rangers at 5 p.m.
Monday, March 13 at Toronto Maple Leafs at 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 15 at Washington Capitals at 7 p.m.
Friday, March 17 at Philadelphia Flyers at 7 p.m.
Sunday, March 19 vs. Boston Bruins at 1 p.m.
Tuesday, March 21 vs. Nashville Predators at 7 p.m.
Friday, March 24 vs. New Jersey Devils at 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 25 at New York Islanders at 5:30 p.m.
Monday, March 27 vs. Montreal Canadiens at 7 p.m.
Friday, March 31 vs. New York Rangers at 7 p.m.

Saturday, April 1 at Philadelphia Flyers at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, April 4 at Florida Panthers at 7 p.m.
Thursday, April 6 at Detroit Red Wings at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 8 vs. Carolina Hurricanes at 12:30 p.m.
Monday, April 10 at New York Rangers at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, April 11 at New Jersey Devils at 7 p.m.
Thursday, April 13 vs. Ottawa Senators at 7 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.